Sports file art

The University of Cincinnati men’s swim team won the American Athletic Conference Championship last week in Dallas.

The achievement marks the first time in UC men’s swimming history that they have won a conference title.

“I am so proud of this team and what they were able to accomplish tonight,” head coach Mandy Commons-DiSalle said. “I couldn’t be more happy with our men’s team. They believed in what they were capable of doing and worked as a team to win this championship in true Bearcat fight-to-the-finish style.”

In their championship victory, senior Chris Bready shattered his personal record and set a new conference meet record, winning the 1,650-meter freestyle with a time of 14:54.88. Sophomore Din Selmanovic and freshman Toby Van Dyke finished second and third, respectively, completing a Cincinnati sweep for the top three.

Freshman William Sigala placed second in the 100-meter freestyle with a time of 44.24, and Dominic Polling placed second in the backstroke at 1:58.78.

Junior Louis Hunt took third in platform diving, scoring 231.50 and topping his score from last year by two points. His feat marks the second straight year the Kentucky native took home a bronze medal in the event.

In the meet’s final race, the men’s 400-meter relay team — including Sigala, Polling, freshman Hans Kabelka and sophomore Alex Fortman — raced to a second-place finish in 2:57.53.

The women’s team also had a successful conference meet, finishing second behind the University of Houston.

“Our women fought for every point this weekend and did an outstanding job placing runner-up,” Commons-DiSalle said.

Senior Sara Wanasek took home the gold medal in the 1,650-meter freestyle with a time of 16:15.51, shattering a school record. Sophomore Rocky Laabs finished second in the event.

Three Bearcats swept the top-three in platform diving as sophomore Tricia Roscoe took home first place with a score of 211.85. Senior Ellen Posch and sophomore Claire Schuermann finished second and third to round out the medalists. Schuermann also took home the women’s Diver of the Year award.

Sophomore Simone Palomo — a Vargas, Venezuela native — finished second in the 200-meter butterfly with a time 1:59.35.

The women’s 400-meter relay team finished third in the final race as freshman Maddie Exton, sophomore Michaela Wheeler, freshman Abby Johnston and junior Katherine Gob finished in 3:22.78.

Other finishes that just missed the podium saw Gob come in fourth in the 100-meter freestyle with a time of 50:12.

Sophomore George Epsly finished fourth for the men in the 200-meter butterfly with a time 1:48.76.

It was a successful meet for the Bearcats' coaching staff, as Commons-DiSalle was named the men’s Swimming Coach of the Year and Kirtley Krombholz was named the women’s Diving Coach of the Year.

Next up for the Bearcats are the Zone Diving Championships, which will be held March 8-10 in Columbus, Ohio.